In Louisiana, there are an estimated 30% of drivers without liability insurance. In an effort to gain compliance with the law, the Louisiana State Police set up a proof of insurance checkpoint on the 164 in Bossier Parish this morning.
State Trooper, Matt Harris explains that generally when drivers don't carry proof of insurance, they don't even have insurance. While the state doesn't require collision insurance, liability insurance is required of all drivers.
At today's checkpoint, there were 10 officers that checked 104 cars. In under 2 hours, they issued 2 tickets for inspection violations, one for tinted windows and 2 insurance violations.
When police find a driver without proof of insurance, license plates are taken, and a green sticker is put on the car, giving the driver 3 days to provided proof of insurance to the DMV. If the driver goes to the DMV with the paperwork, he can pay a fee and get his plates back.. if not, his car will be towed the next time he is pulled over.
Everybody we spoke to was aware of the law and always carried proof of insurance in the car, but at least 2 drivers in the area didn't follow this law and they now have green stickers on the back of their cars.