Nursing honor society honored

Northwestern State University
Wednesday, September 11, 2013 - 9:40am

Northwestern State University’s Beta Chi Chapter of Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society of Nursing will be honored as recipient of the 2013 Dorothy Ford Buschmann Presidential Award. Chapter President Theresa A. Kyzar, assistant professor in Northwestern State’s College of Nursing and Allied Health, was notified of the honor, which was established in 1997 to recognize the pioneer leadership of the honor society’s first president, Dorothy Ford Buschmann.

“This award recognizes individuals or groups who have been most instrumental in supporting the president during the tenure of his or her term in office,” said Suzanne S. Prevost, president of the national organization. “Beta Chi Chapter and its members have not only supported me during my presidency, but also throughout the years of my journey with STTI. You were there supporting me each time I was on the ballot. Words cannot adequately express how much your support has meant to me both personally and professionally.”

Representatives of Beta Chi chapter were invited to the Founders Awards Celebration at Sigma Theta Tau International’s convention on Nov. 18.

Founded in 1922, STTI is a global community of nurse leaders with 486 chapters in more than 85 countries. Members include practicing nurses, instructors, researchers, policymakers, entrepreneurs and others.

“I am looking forward to sharing this wonderful news with the entire membership of Beta Chi and the Northwestern State College of Nursing faculty,” Kyzar said. “I am absolutely thrilled and honored for all of us.”


Comments News Comments

Post new Comment